MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#33
Eddie Butler
ERA W-L K
3.95 4-3 30
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-2 / 180 NFBC ADP: 662.01
Position: SPBorn: 3/13/1991 Birthplace: Chesapeake, Virginia
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Supplemental Round by Rockies (2012)


Latest News
July 18 4:14 PM PT5:14 PM MT6:14 PM CT7:14 PM ET19:14 ET23:14 GMT7:14 4:14 PM MST6:14 PM EST6:44 PM VEN3:14 UAE (+1)6:14 PM CT-Butler was optioned to Triple-A Iowa.
Analysis: Butler, who has not started since July 7, is 4-3 with a 3.95 ERA this season.
July 15 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)9:48 PM CT-Eddie Butler allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 1.1 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Baltimore Orioles 10-3 on Saturday. Butler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.95 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
July 7 4:24 PM PT5:24 PM MT6:24 PM CT7:24 PM ET19:24 ET23:24 GMT7:24 4:24 PM MST6:24 PM EST6:54 PM VEN3:24 UAE (+1)6:24 PM CT-Eddie Butler allowed four hits and three walks without giving up a run in 4.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-1 on Friday. Butler struck out one, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
July 1 5:34 PM PT6:34 PM MT7:34 PM CT8:34 PM ET20:34 ET0:34 GMT8:34 5:34 PM MST7:34 PM EST8:04 PM VEN4:34 UAE (+1)7:34 PM CT-Eddie Butler fell to 4-3, allowing four runs on five hits and three walks in 3.2 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Cincinnati Reds 5-3 on Saturday. Butler struck out two, ending the game with a 4.18 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
June 27 10:42 AM PT11:42 AM MT12:42 PM CT1:42 PM ET13:42 ET17:42 GMT1:42 10:42 AM MST12:42 PM EST1:12 PM VEN21:42 UAE12:42 PM CT-Eddie Butler improved to 4-2, allowing four hits over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Washington Nationals 5-4 on Monday. Butler struck out one, ending the game with a 3.71 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
June 21 2:45 PM PT3:45 PM MT4:45 PM CT5:45 PM ET17:45 ET21:45 GMT5:45 2:45 PM MST4:45 PM EST5:15 PM VEN1:45 UAE (+1)4:45 PM CT-Eddie Butler allowed one run on five hits and three walks in 4.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Diego Padres 3-2 on Wednesday. Butler struck out four, ending the game with a 4.19 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Butler is 0-1 with a 4.91 ERA in his last three starts. He's allowed 15 hits and seven walks over 14 2/3 innings in those outings.
June 16 8:24 PM PT9:24 PM MT10:24 PM CT11:24 PM ET23:24 ET3:24 GMT11:24 8:24 PM MST10:24 PM EST10:54 PM VEN7:24 UAE (+1)10:24 PM CT-Butler allowed four runs on four hits and three walks in 5.2 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 9-5 on Friday. Butler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.41 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Butler continues to be serviceable but has no fantasy value.
June 10 3:00 PM PT4:00 PM MT5:00 PM CT6:00 PM ET18:00 ET22:00 GMT6:00 3:00 PM MST5:00 PM EST5:30 PM VEN2:00 UAE (+1)5:00 PM CT-Eddie Butler fell to 3-2, allowing three runs on six hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Colorado Rockies 9-1 on Saturday. Butler struck out three, ending the game with a 4.03 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The Cubs acquired Butler from the Rockies on Feb. 1 after he went 6-16 with a 6.50 ERA in 36 games - 28 starts - for Colorado from 2014-16.
June 6 9:12 PM PT10:12 PM MT11:12 PM CT12:12 AM ET0:12 ET4:12 GMT12:12 9:12 PM MST11:12 PM EST11:42 PM VEN8:12 UAE11:12 PM CT-Butler improved to 3-1, allowing one run on three hits and one walk in 5.2 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Miami Marlins 3-1 on Monday.
Analysis: Butler struck out four, ending the game with a 3.75 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
May 31 10:28 AM PT11:28 AM MT12:28 PM CT1:28 PM ET13:28 ET17:28 GMT1:28 10:28 AM MST12:28 PM EST12:58 PM VEN21:28 UAE12:28 PM CT-Eddie Butler fell to 2-1, allowing six runs on seven hits and three walks in 4.1 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Diego Padres 6-2 on Tuesday. Butler struck out five, ending the game with a 4.42 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
May 25 5:31 PM PT6:31 PM MT7:31 PM CT8:31 PM ET20:31 ET0:31 GMT8:31 5:31 PM MST7:31 PM EST8:01 PM VEN4:31 UAE (+1)7:31 PM CT-Eddie Butler improved to 2-0, allowing one run on four hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the San Francisco Giants 5-1 on Thursday. Butler struck out one, ending the game with a 1.93 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
May 19 5:45 PM PT6:45 PM MT7:45 PM CT8:45 PM ET20:45 ET0:45 GMT8:45 5:45 PM MST7:45 PM EST8:15 PM VEN4:45 UAE (+1)7:45 PM CT-Eddie Butler allowed two runs on three hits and five walks in 3.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 6-3 on Friday. Butler struck out three.
Analysis: It was Butler's second start with the Cubs after he allowed two hits and three walks with five strikeouts over six scoreless innings to defeat the St. Louis Cardinals 3-2 last Friday.
May 12 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)10:35 PM CT-Eddie Butler improved to 1-0, allowing two hits and three walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 3-2 on Friday. Butler struck out five, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Butler went 6-16 with a 6.50 ERA and a 1.77 WHIP in three seasons for Colorado, but may have a chance to revive his career with the Cubs. The 26-year-old has at least earned himself another turn through the rotation with Friday's sharp effort.
Feb. 1 11:23 AM PT12:23 PM MT1:23 PM CT2:23 PM ET14:23 ET19:23 GMT3:23 12:23 PM MST2:23 PM EST2:53 PM VEN23:23 UAE1:23 PM CT-The Cubs have acquired Butler from the Rockies in exchange for minor league pitcher James Farris.
Analysis: Once a highly touted prospect, Butler went 6-16 with a 6.50 ERA over 36 appearances (28 starts) spread out across three seasons with the Rockies. The 26-year-old right-hander hopes to benefit from both a change of scenery and getting away from the treacherous conditions of Coors Field.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2014 Col 1 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 16.0 23 12 12 2 7 1 3 1.88 6.75
2015 Col 3 10 0 - 0 16 16 1 79.1 102 57 52 13 42 4 44 1.82 5.90
2016 Col 2 5 0 - 0 17 9 0 64.0 87 57 51 13 21 1 47 1.69 7.17
2017 ChC 4 3 0 - 0 13 11 0 54.2 50 24 24 4 28 2 30 1.43 3.95
Career 10 19 0 - 0 49 39 1 214.0 262 150 139 32 98 8 124 1.68 5.85

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 Col 3 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Col 16 23 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 13 0 0 .043 .043 .043
2016 Col 17 15 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .067 .067 .067
2017 ChC 13 15 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 6 0 0 .067 .125 .067
Career 49 59 0 3 0 0 0 0 1 24 0 0 .051 .067 .051


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 612 97 89 93.2 66.67
Curveball 142 85 76 80.6 15.47
Slider 81 95 85 91.1 8.82
Changeup 83 91 85 87.4 9.04

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.