MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#13
Will Smith
ERA S K
1.50 3 40
Team: San FranciscoHt / Wt: 6-5 / 265
Position: RPBorn: 7/10/1989 Birthplace: Newnan, Georgia
Bats/Throws: R/L Draft: 7th Round by Angels (2008)


Latest News
July 22 10:13 PM PT11:13 PM MT12:13 AM CT1:13 AM ET1:13 ET5:13 GMT13:13 10:13 PM MST12:13 AM EST11:13 PM CST12:43 AM VEN9:13 UAE12:13 AM CT-Will Smith fell to 0-1, allowing one run on three hits in 0.2 innings, as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Oakland Athletics 4-3 on Saturday. Smith did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.50 ERA and 0.87 WHIP on the season.
July 15 3:51 PM PT4:51 PM MT5:51 PM CT6:51 PM ET18:51 ET22:51 GMT6:51 3:51 PM MST5:51 PM EST4:51 PM CST6:21 PM VEN2:51 UAE (+1)5:51 PM CT-Will Smith allowed one run on four hits in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Oakland Athletics 6-2 on Sunday. Smith struck out two, ending the game with a 1.23 ERA and 0.78 WHIP on the season.
July 11 5:19 PM PT6:19 PM MT7:19 PM CT8:19 PM ET20:19 ET0:19 GMT8:19 5:19 PM MST7:19 PM EST6:19 PM CST7:49 PM VEN4:19 UAE (+1)7:19 PM CT-Will Smith allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Chicago Cubs 5-4 on Wednesday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 0.95 ERA and 0.67 WHIP on the season.
July 10 10:26 PM PT11:26 PM MT12:26 AM CT1:26 AM ET1:26 ET5:26 GMT13:26 10:26 PM MST12:26 AM EST11:26 PM CST12:56 AM VEN9:26 UAE12:26 AM CT-Will Smith allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Chicago Cubs 2-1 on Monday. Smith struck out two, ending the game with a 1.03 ERA and 0.68 WHIP on the season.
July 7 9:43 PM PT10:43 PM MT11:43 PM CT12:43 AM ET0:43 ET4:43 GMT12:43 9:43 PM MST11:43 PM EST10:43 PM CST12:13 AM VEN8:43 UAE11:43 PM CT-Will Smith recorded his third save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the San Francisco Giants defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 3-2 on Friday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 1.07 ERA and 0.67 WHIP on the season.
July 1 4:59 PM PT5:59 PM MT6:59 PM CT7:59 PM ET19:59 ET23:59 GMT7:59 4:59 PM MST6:59 PM EST5:59 PM CST7:29 PM VEN3:59 UAE (+1)6:59 PM CT-Will Smith recorded his second save, allowing no runs on no hits in 0.1 innings, as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 9-6 on Sunday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 1.11 ERA and 0.70 WHIP on the season.
June 30 9:32 PM PT10:32 PM MT11:32 PM CT12:32 AM ET0:32 ET4:32 GMT12:32 9:32 PM MST11:32 PM EST10:32 PM CST12:02 AM VEN8:32 UAE11:32 PM CT-Will Smith recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 2-1 on Friday. Smith struck out two, ending the game with a 1.13 ERA and 0.71 WHIP on the season.
June 28 9:52 PM PT10:52 PM MT11:52 PM CT12:52 AM ET0:52 ET4:52 GMT12:52 9:52 PM MST11:52 PM EST10:52 PM CST12:22 AM VEN8:52 UAE11:52 PM CT-Will Smith did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Colorado Rockies 1-0 on Wednesday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 1.17 ERA and 0.74 WHIP on the season.
June 24 4:12 PM PT5:12 PM MT6:12 PM CT7:12 PM ET19:12 ET23:12 GMT7:12 4:12 PM MST6:12 PM EST5:12 PM CST6:42 PM VEN3:12 UAE (+1)6:12 PM CT-Will Smith did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the San Diego Padres 3-2 on Sunday. Smith struck out two, ending the game with a 1.25 ERA and 0.78 WHIP on the season.
June 23 10:10 PM PT11:10 PM MT12:10 AM CT1:10 AM ET1:10 ET5:10 GMT13:10 10:10 PM MST12:10 AM EST11:10 PM CST12:40 AM VEN9:10 UAE12:10 AM CT-Will Smith allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 0.2 innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the San Diego Padres 6-2 on Friday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 1.31 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
June 20 10:08 PM PT11:08 PM MT12:08 AM CT1:08 AM ET1:08 ET5:08 GMT13:08 10:08 PM MST12:08 AM EST11:08 PM CST12:38 AM VEN9:08 UAE12:08 AM CT-Will Smith walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.1 scoreless innings as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Miami Marlins 6-3 on Tuesday. Smith struck out three, ending the game with a 0.90 ERA and 0.70 WHIP on the season.
June 17 4:08 PM PT5:08 PM MT6:08 PM CT7:08 PM ET19:08 ET23:08 GMT7:08 4:08 PM MST6:08 PM EST5:08 PM CST6:38 PM VEN3:08 UAE (+1)6:08 PM CT-Will Smith did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-1 on Sunday. Smith struck out two, ending the game with a 0.96 ERA and 0.70 WHIP on the season.
June 16 10:06 PM PT11:06 PM MT12:06 AM CT1:06 AM ET1:06 ET5:06 GMT13:06 10:06 PM MST12:06 AM EST11:06 PM CST12:36 AM VEN9:06 UAE12:06 AM CT-Will Smith did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 3-2 on Friday. Smith struck out two, ending the game with a 1.02 ERA and 0.74 WHIP on the season.
June 13 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST8:28 PM CST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Will Smith blew his first save, allowing no runs on one hit in 0.2 innings, as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Miami Marlins 5-4 on Wednesday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 1.08 ERA and 0.78 WHIP on the season.
June 12 6:48 PM PT7:48 PM MT8:48 PM CT9:48 PM ET21:48 ET1:48 GMT9:48 6:48 PM MST8:48 PM EST7:48 PM CST9:18 PM VEN5:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-Will Smith did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Miami Marlins 3-1 on Tuesday. Smith struck out three, ending the game with a 1.13 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
June 8 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST8:15 PM CST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Will Smith did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Washington Nationals 9-5 on Friday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 1.20 ERA and 0.80 WHIP on the season.
June 6 4:27 PM PT5:27 PM MT6:27 PM CT7:27 PM ET19:27 ET23:27 GMT7:27 4:27 PM MST6:27 PM EST5:27 PM CST6:57 PM VEN3:27 UAE (+1)6:27 PM CT-Will Smith walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-4 on Wednesday. Smith struck out two, ending the game with a 1.29 ERA and 0.86 WHIP on the season.
June 3 3:43 PM PT4:43 PM MT5:43 PM CT6:43 PM ET18:43 ET22:43 GMT6:43 3:43 PM MST5:43 PM EST4:43 PM CST6:13 PM VEN2:43 UAE (+1)5:43 PM CT-Will Smith allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 6-1 on Sunday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 1.38 ERA and 0.85 WHIP on the season.
May 30 9:00 PM PT10:00 PM MT11:00 PM CT12:00 AM ET0:00 ET4:00 GMT12:00 9:00 PM MST11:00 PM EST10:00 PM CST11:30 PM VEN8:00 UAE11:00 PM CT-Will Smith allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Colorado Rockies 11-4 on Tuesday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 1.50 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
May 28 8:39 PM PT9:39 PM MT10:39 PM CT11:39 PM ET23:39 ET3:39 GMT11:39 8:39 PM MST10:39 PM EST9:39 PM CST11:09 PM VEN7:39 UAE (+1)10:39 PM CT-Will Smith allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Colorado Rockies 6-5 on Monday. Smith did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.74 ERA and 0.77 WHIP on the season.
May 25 2:11 PM PT3:11 PM MT4:11 PM CT5:11 PM ET17:11 ET21:11 GMT5:11 2:11 PM MST4:11 PM EST3:11 PM CST4:41 PM VEN1:11 UAE (+1)4:11 PM CT-Will Smith allowed two runs on one hit and one walk in 0.1 innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Chicago Cubs 6-2 on Friday. Smith did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.86 ERA and 0.72 WHIP on the season.
May 23 2:13 PM PT3:13 PM MT4:13 PM CT5:13 PM ET17:13 ET21:13 GMT5:13 2:13 PM MST4:13 PM EST3:13 PM CST4:43 PM VEN1:13 UAE (+1)4:13 PM CT-Will Smith did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Houston Astros 4-1 on Wednesday. Smith did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.54 WHIP on the season.
May 20 4:33 PM PT5:33 PM MT6:33 PM CT7:33 PM ET19:33 ET23:33 GMT7:33 4:33 PM MST6:33 PM EST5:33 PM CST7:03 PM VEN3:33 UAE (+1)6:33 PM CT-Will Smith did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Colorado Rockies 9-5 on Sunday. Smith struck out three, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.63 WHIP on the season.
May 19 4:13 PM PT5:13 PM MT6:13 PM CT7:13 PM ET19:13 ET23:13 GMT7:13 4:13 PM MST6:13 PM EST5:13 PM CST6:43 PM VEN3:13 UAE (+1)6:13 PM CT-Will Smith did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Colorado Rockies 9-4 on Saturday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.71 WHIP on the season.
May 18 11:18 PM PT12:18 AM MT1:18 AM CT2:18 AM ET2:18 ET6:18 GMT14:18 11:18 PM MST1:18 AM EST12:18 AM CST1:48 AM VEN10:18 UAE1:18 AM CT-Will Smith did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Colorado Rockies 5-3 on Thursday. Smith did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.
May 16 10:11 PM PT11:11 PM MT12:11 AM CT1:11 AM ET1:11 ET5:11 GMT13:11 10:11 PM MST12:11 AM EST11:11 PM CST12:41 AM VEN9:11 UAE12:11 AM CT-Will Smith did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Cincinnati Reds 5-3 on Tuesday. Smith struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.88 WHIP on the season.
May 13 1:45 PM PT2:45 PM MT3:45 PM CT4:45 PM ET16:45 ET20:45 GMT4:45 1:45 PM MST3:45 PM EST2:45 PM CST4:15 PM VEN0:45 UAE (+1)3:45 PM CT-Will Smith did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-0 on Sunday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
May 10 12:59 PM PT1:59 PM MT2:59 PM CT3:59 PM ET15:59 ET19:59 GMT3:59 12:59 PM MST2:59 PM EST1:59 PM CST3:29 PM VEN23:59 UAE2:59 PM CT-Will Smith allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 6-3 on Thursday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
May 8 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST8:04 PM CST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)9:04 PM CT-Will Smith allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 4-2 on Tuesday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
May 4 7:27 PM PT8:27 PM MT9:27 PM CT10:27 PM ET22:27 ET2:27 GMT10:27 7:27 PM MST9:27 PM EST8:27 PM CST9:57 PM VEN6:27 UAE (+1)9:27 PM CT-Will Smith allowed one run - zero earned - on one hit in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Atlanta Braves 9-4 on Friday. Smith did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
May 2 3:49 PM PT4:49 PM MT5:49 PM CT6:49 PM ET18:49 ET22:49 GMT6:49 3:49 PM MST5:49 PM EST4:49 PM CST6:19 PM VEN2:49 UAE (+1)5:49 PM CT-Will Smith walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the San Diego Padres 9-4 on Wednesday. Smith struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: It was Smith's first appearance in the big leagues in nearly 19 months after undergoing Tommy John surgery on March 30, 2017. Smith was acquired at the 2016 trade deadline from the Brewers and appeared in 26 games for the Giants, posting a 2.95 ERA with 26 strikeouts in 18 1/3 innings.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2012 KC 6 9 0 - 0 16 16 0 89.2 111 54 53 12 33 1 59 1.61 5.32
2013 KC 2 1 0 - 3 19 1 0 33.1 24 16 12 6 7 0 43 0.93 3.24
2014 Mil 1 3 1 - 6 78 0 0 65.2 62 31 27 6 31 6 86 1.42 3.70
2015 Mil 7 2 0 - 4 76 0 0 63.1 52 23 19 5 24 1 91 1.20 2.70
2016 Mil 1 3 0 - 4 27 0 0 22.0 18 13 9 3 9 1 22 1.23 3.68
2016 SF 1 1 0 - 1 26 0 0 18.1 13 6 6 0 9 0 26 1.20 2.95
2016 Tot 2 4 0 - 5 53 0 0 40.1 31 19 15 3 18 1 48 1.21 3.35
2018 SF 0 1 3 - 4 31 0 0 30.0 19 6 5 0 7 2 40 0.87 1.50
Career 18 20 4 - 22 273 17 0 322.1 299 149 131 32 120 11 367 1.30 3.66


Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2016 SF Total 0 1 0 - 1 2 0 0 1.1 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
    LDS 0 1 0 - 1 2 0 0 1.1 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
Career 0 1 0 - 1 2 0 0 1.1 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 0.00


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 205 96 89 92.6 46.7
Curveball 60 79 75 76.3 13.67
Slider 168 85 78 81.3 38.27
Changeup 6 87 85 86.5 1.37

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.