MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#29
Brad Ziegler
ERA S K
4.79 10 26
Team: MiamiHt / Wt: 6-4 / 231 NFBC ADP: 434.14
Position: RPBorn: 10/10/1979 Birthplace: Pratt, Kansas
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Athletics (2004)


Latest News
Sep. 29 8:40 PM PT9:40 PM MT10:40 PM CT11:40 PM ET23:40 ET3:40 GMT11:40 8:40 PM MST10:40 PM EST11:10 PM VEN7:40 UAE (+1)10:40 PM CT-Brad Ziegler recorded his 10th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 0.2 innings, as the Miami Marlins defeated the Atlanta Braves 6-5 on Friday. Ziegler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.79 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 25 8:02 AM PT9:02 AM MT10:02 AM CT11:02 AM ET11:02 ET15:02 GMT23:02 8:02 AM MST10:02 AM EST10:32 AM VEN19:02 UAE10:02 AM CT-Brad Ziegler blew his fifth save, allowing one run - zero earned - on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-2 on Sunday. Ziegler struck out one, ending the game with a 4.86 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 24 9:58 PM PT10:58 PM MT11:58 PM CT12:58 AM ET0:58 ET4:58 GMT12:58 9:58 PM MST11:58 PM EST12:28 AM VEN8:58 UAE11:58 PM CT-Brad Ziegler did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 12-6 on Saturday. Ziegler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.96 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 13 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)8:59 PM CT-Ziegler was once again unavailable on Wednesday night with a back issue that has prevented him from taking the mound since Sept. 7. Marlins manager Don Mattingly said that he was expecting Miami's closer to start a throwing program on Thursday.
Analysis: ''I would think that he could be back fairly quick,'' Mattingly said before Wednesday's game. ''But right now, I'm just guessing. We'll see when he starts throwing if everything is good, and then we'll go from there.''
Sep. 9 8:13 PM PT9:13 PM MT10:13 PM CT11:13 PM ET23:13 ET3:13 GMT11:13 8:13 PM MST10:13 PM EST10:43 PM VEN7:13 UAE (+1)10:13 PM CT-Ziegler has lingering tightness in his back and will not be available this weekend.
Analysis: Ziegler missed 31 games with a back strain earlier this season. He gave up two runs in the ninth inning of the Braves' 6-5 win on Thursday night for his fourth blown save in 13 chances.
Sep. 8 12:17 AM PT1:17 AM MT2:17 AM CT3:17 AM ET3:17 ET7:17 GMT15:17 12:17 AM MST2:17 AM EST2:47 AM VEN11:17 UAE2:17 AM CT-Brad Ziegler fell to 1-4, allowing two runs on three hits and one walk in 0.2 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Atlanta Braves 6-5 on Thursday. Ziegler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.04 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: After converting his first nine save chances since being installed as the Marlins' closer at the start of August, Ziegler has blown two straight while allowing four runs and six hits in 2 2/3 innings over his past three appearances.
Sep. 3 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)4:39 PM CT-Brad Ziegler allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 3-1 on Sunday. Ziegler struck out one, ending the game with a 4.70 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 1 8:01 PM PT9:01 PM MT10:01 PM CT11:01 PM ET23:01 ET3:01 GMT11:01 8:01 PM MST10:01 PM EST10:31 PM VEN7:01 UAE (+1)10:01 PM CT-Brad Ziegler fell to 1-3, allowing two runs on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 2-1 on Friday. Ziegler struck out one, ending the game with a 4.81 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 31 7:39 PM PT8:39 PM MT9:39 PM CT10:39 PM ET22:39 ET2:39 GMT10:39 7:39 PM MST9:39 PM EST10:09 PM VEN6:39 UAE (+1)9:39 PM CT-Brad Ziegler did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 3-2 on Thursday. Ziegler struck out one, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 27 3:20 PM PT4:20 PM MT5:20 PM CT6:20 PM ET18:20 ET22:20 GMT6:20 3:20 PM MST5:20 PM EST5:50 PM VEN2:20 UAE (+1)5:20 PM CT-Brad Ziegler did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the San Diego Padres 6-2 on Sunday. Ziegler struck out one, ending the game with a 4.61 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 25 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-Brad Ziegler recorded his ninth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Miami Marlins defeated the San Diego Padres 8-6 on Friday. Ziegler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.73 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: All nine of Ziegler's saves have come in nine opportunities in August. He's pitched 11 scoreless innings over 11 appearances this month.
Aug. 24 1:40 PM PT2:40 PM MT3:40 PM CT4:40 PM ET16:40 ET20:40 GMT4:40 1:40 PM MST3:40 PM EST4:10 PM VEN0:40 UAE (+1)3:40 PM CT-Brad Ziegler recorded his eighth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Miami Marlins defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 9-8 on Thursday. Ziegler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.85 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 23 11:04 PM PT12:04 AM MT1:04 AM CT2:04 AM ET2:04 ET6:04 GMT14:04 11:04 PM MST1:04 AM EST1:34 AM VEN10:04 UAE1:04 AM CT-Brad Ziegler recorded his seventh save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Miami Marlins defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 7-4 on Tuesday. Ziegler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.97 ERA and 1.66 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The veteran has been a revelation since returning from a back injury on Aug. 1, converting all seven of his save chances and throwing a combined nine scoreless innings. With the Marlins having a great month as well, Ziegler's fantasy stock continues to rise.
Aug. 20 1:26 PM PT2:26 PM MT3:26 PM CT4:26 PM ET16:26 ET20:26 GMT4:26 1:26 PM MST3:26 PM EST3:56 PM VEN0:26 UAE (+1)3:26 PM CT-Brad Ziegler recorded his sixth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Miami Marlins defeated the New York Mets 6-4 on Sunday. Ziegler struck out one, ending the game with a 5.11 ERA and 1.68 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 19 8:14 AM PT9:14 AM MT10:14 AM CT11:14 AM ET11:14 ET15:14 GMT23:14 8:14 AM MST10:14 AM EST10:44 AM VEN19:14 UAE10:14 AM CT-Brad Ziegler allowed no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Miami Marlins defeated the New York Mets 3-1 on Friday. Ziegler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.25 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Four Miami relievers combined on four scoreless innings including Ziegler, who hurled a perfect ninth for his fifth save in seven chances.
Aug. 16 1:54 PM PT2:54 PM MT3:54 PM CT4:54 PM ET16:54 ET20:54 GMT4:54 1:54 PM MST3:54 PM EST4:24 PM VEN0:54 UAE (+1)3:54 PM CT-Brad Ziegler did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the San Francisco Giants 8-1 on Wednesday. Ziegler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 12 8:14 PM PT9:14 PM MT10:14 PM CT11:14 PM ET23:14 ET3:14 GMT11:14 8:14 PM MST10:14 PM EST10:44 PM VEN7:14 UAE (+1)10:14 PM CT-Brad Ziegler recorded his fourth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Miami Marlins defeated the Colorado Rockies 4-3 on Saturday. Ziegler struck out one, ending the game with a 5.56 ERA and 1.76 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 11 8:16 PM PT9:16 PM MT10:16 PM CT11:16 PM ET23:16 ET3:16 GMT11:16 8:16 PM MST10:16 PM EST10:46 PM VEN7:16 UAE (+1)10:16 PM CT-Brad Ziegler recorded his third save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Miami Marlins defeated the Colorado Rockies 6-3 on Friday. Ziegler struck out one, ending the game with a 5.73 ERA and 1.76 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 8:37 AM PT9:37 AM MT10:37 AM CT11:37 AM ET11:37 ET15:37 GMT23:37 8:37 AM MST10:37 AM EST11:07 AM VEN19:37 UAE10:37 AM CT-Brad Ziegler allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the Washington Nationals 7-3 on Tuesday. Ziegler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.91 ERA and 1.78 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 6 1:39 PM PT2:39 PM MT3:39 PM CT4:39 PM ET16:39 ET20:39 GMT4:39 1:39 PM MST3:39 PM EST4:09 PM VEN0:39 UAE (+1)3:39 PM CT-Brad Ziegler allowed no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Miami Marlins defeated the Atlanta Braves 4-1 on Sunday. Ziegler struck out one, ending the game with a 6.10 ERA and 1.81 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Ziegler earned his second save in five chances. He gave up a single to Freddie Freeman, but struck out Nick Markakis to end it.
Aug. 1 8:54 PM PT9:54 PM MT10:54 PM CT11:54 PM ET23:54 ET3:54 GMT11:54 8:54 PM MST10:54 PM EST11:24 PM VEN7:54 UAE (+1)10:54 PM CT-Brad Ziegler recorded his first save, allowing no runs on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Miami Marlins defeated the Washington Nationals 7-6 on Tuesday. Ziegler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.30 ERA and 1.83 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Ziegler did allow the tying run to reach third in his first major league appearance since June 20. The veteran reliever, who had been sidelined by a back injury, has taken over the closer role with Miami recently trading A.J. Ramos to the Mets.
June 22 12:12 PM PT1:12 PM MT2:12 PM CT3:12 PM ET15:12 ET19:12 GMT3:12 12:12 PM MST2:12 PM EST2:42 PM VEN23:12 UAE2:12 PM CT-The Marlins activated Ziegler from the 10-day disabled list prior to Saturday's game against Cincinnati.
Analysis: Ziegler, out since June 21 with a back strain, prepped for his return with two scoreless appearances on a minor league rehab assignment. The 37-year-old could be in the mix to close games with Miami trading A.J. Ramos to the Mets.
June 20 7:39 PM PT8:39 PM MT9:39 PM CT10:39 PM ET22:39 ET2:39 GMT10:39 7:39 PM MST9:39 PM EST10:09 PM VEN6:39 UAE (+1)9:39 PM CT-Brad Ziegler allowed five runs - three earned - on four hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Washington Nationals 12-3 on Tuesday. Ziegler struck out one, ending the game with a 6.52 ERA and 1.83 WHIP on the season.
June 17 6:16 PM PT7:16 PM MT8:16 PM CT9:16 PM ET21:16 ET1:16 GMT9:16 6:16 PM MST8:16 PM EST8:46 PM VEN5:16 UAE (+1)8:16 PM CT-Brad Ziegler allowed two runs on four hits in 0.2 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Atlanta Braves 8-7 on Saturday. Ziegler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.79 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
June 14 1:14 PM PT2:14 PM MT3:14 PM CT4:14 PM ET16:14 ET20:14 GMT4:14 1:14 PM MST3:14 PM EST3:44 PM VEN0:14 UAE (+1)3:14 PM CT-Brad Ziegler allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the Oakland Athletics 11-6 on Wednesday. Ziegler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.27 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
June 11 3:51 PM PT4:51 PM MT5:51 PM CT6:51 PM ET18:51 ET22:51 GMT6:51 3:51 PM MST5:51 PM EST6:21 PM VEN2:51 UAE (+1)5:51 PM CT-Brad Ziegler allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 3-1 on Sunday. Ziegler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.47 ERA and 1.63 WHIP on the season.
June 10 5:51 PM PT6:51 PM MT7:51 PM CT8:51 PM ET20:51 ET0:51 GMT8:51 5:51 PM MST7:51 PM EST8:21 PM VEN4:51 UAE (+1)7:51 PM CT-Brad Ziegler allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-6 on Saturday. Ziegler struck out one, ending the game with a 5.61 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
June 8 9:05 AM PT10:05 AM MT11:05 AM CT12:05 PM ET12:05 ET16:05 GMT0:05 9:05 AM MST11:05 AM EST11:35 AM VEN20:05 UAE11:05 AM CT-Brad Ziegler did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the Chicago Cubs 6-5 on Wednesday. Ziegler struck out one, ending the game with a 5.84 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
June 7 9:53 AM PT10:53 AM MT11:53 AM CT12:53 PM ET12:53 ET16:53 GMT0:53 9:53 AM MST11:53 AM EST12:23 PM VEN20:53 UAE11:53 AM CT-Brad Ziegler did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Chicago Cubs 10-2 on Tuesday. Ziegler struck out one, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.67 WHIP on the season.
June 6 9:12 PM PT10:12 PM MT11:12 PM CT12:12 AM ET0:12 ET4:12 GMT12:12 9:12 PM MST11:12 PM EST11:42 PM VEN8:12 UAE11:12 PM CT-Brad Ziegler did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Chicago Cubs 3-1 on Monday. Ziegler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.08 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
June 2 9:11 AM PT10:11 AM MT11:11 AM CT12:11 PM ET12:11 ET16:11 GMT0:11 9:11 AM MST11:11 AM EST11:41 AM VEN20:11 UAE11:11 AM CT-Brad Ziegler blew his second save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-2 on Thursday. Ziegler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.35 ERA and 1.76 WHIP on the season.
May 31 2:45 PM PT3:45 PM MT4:45 PM CT5:45 PM ET17:45 ET21:45 GMT5:45 2:45 PM MST4:45 PM EST5:15 PM VEN1:45 UAE (+1)4:45 PM CT-Brad Ziegler did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 10-2 on Wednesday. Ziegler struck out one, ending the game with a 6.65 ERA and 1.75 WHIP on the season.
May 29 9:13 AM PT10:13 AM MT11:13 AM CT12:13 PM ET12:13 ET16:13 GMT0:13 9:13 AM MST11:13 AM EST11:43 AM VEN20:13 UAE11:13 AM CT-Brad Ziegler did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the Los Angeles Angels 9-2 on Sunday. Ziegler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.78 WHIP on the season.
May 24 5:34 PM PT6:34 PM MT7:34 PM CT8:34 PM ET20:34 ET0:34 GMT8:34 5:34 PM MST7:34 PM EST8:04 PM VEN4:34 UAE (+1)7:34 PM CT-Brad Ziegler allowed one run on three hits in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Oakland Athletics 4-1 on Wednesday. Ziegler struck out two, ending the game with a 7.23 ERA and 1.88 WHIP on the season.
May 22 7:24 AM PT8:24 AM MT9:24 AM CT10:24 AM ET10:24 ET14:24 GMT22:24 7:24 AM MST9:24 AM EST9:54 AM VEN18:24 UAE9:24 AM CT-Brad Ziegler allowed two runs on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 6-3 on Sunday. Ziegler struck out one, ending the game with a 7.13 ERA and 1.81 WHIP on the season.
May 21 9:43 AM PT10:43 AM MT11:43 AM CT12:43 PM ET12:43 ET16:43 GMT0:43 9:43 AM MST11:43 AM EST12:13 PM VEN20:43 UAE11:43 AM CT-Brad Ziegler did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 10-6 on Saturday. Ziegler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.48 ERA and 1.80 WHIP on the season.
May 17 4:11 PM PT5:11 PM MT6:11 PM CT7:11 PM ET19:11 ET23:11 GMT7:11 4:11 PM MST6:11 PM EST6:41 PM VEN3:11 UAE (+1)6:11 PM CT-Brad Ziegler did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Houston Astros 3-0 on Wednesday. Ziegler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.61 ERA and 1.84 WHIP on the season.
May 15 8:58 PM PT9:58 PM MT10:58 PM CT11:58 PM ET23:58 ET3:58 GMT11:58 8:58 PM MST10:58 PM EST11:28 PM VEN7:58 UAE (+1)10:58 PM CT-Brad Ziegler allowed two runs on three hits and two walks in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Houston Astros 7-2 on Monday. Ziegler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.04 ERA and 1.96 WHIP on the season.
May 12 7:39 PM PT8:39 PM MT9:39 PM CT10:39 PM ET22:39 ET2:39 GMT10:39 7:39 PM MST9:39 PM EST10:09 PM VEN6:39 UAE (+1)9:39 PM CT-Brad Ziegler allowed four runs - three earned - on two hits and one walk in 0.1 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Atlanta Braves 8-4 on Friday. Ziegler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.28 ERA and 1.74 WHIP on the season.
May 6 9:39 PM PT10:39 PM MT11:39 PM CT12:39 AM ET0:39 ET4:39 GMT12:39 9:39 PM MST11:39 PM EST12:09 AM VEN8:39 UAE11:39 PM CT-Brad Ziegler fell to 1-2, allowing five runs on six hits without recording an out, as the Miami Marlins lost to the New York Mets 8-7 on Friday. Ziegler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.73 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The side-arming right-hander had a 1.35 ERA when he was summoned to protect a four-run lead in the seventh.
May 1 8:09 PM PT9:09 PM MT10:09 PM CT11:09 PM ET23:09 ET3:09 GMT11:09 8:09 PM MST10:09 PM EST10:39 PM VEN7:09 UAE (+1)10:09 PM CT-Brad Ziegler fell to 1-1, allowing one run on one hit and three walks in 0.2 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 4-2 on Monday. Ziegler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.35 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 6:47 PM PT7:47 PM MT8:47 PM CT9:47 PM ET21:47 ET1:47 GMT9:47 6:47 PM MST8:47 PM EST9:17 PM VEN5:47 UAE (+1)8:47 PM CT-Brad Ziegler did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 10-3 on Sunday. Ziegler struck out one, ending the game with a 0.71 ERA and 0.87 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Brad Ziegler walked one and didn't allow a hit in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-0 on Saturday. Ziegler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.77 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 2:53 PM PT3:53 PM MT4:53 PM CT5:53 PM ET17:53 ET21:53 GMT5:53 2:53 PM MST4:53 PM EST5:23 PM VEN1:53 UAE (+1)4:53 PM CT-Brad Ziegler allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 3-2 on Thursday. Ziegler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.82 ERA and 0.91 WHIP on the season.

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.