MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#58
Luis Castillo
ERA W-L K
3.12 3-7 98
Team: CincinnatiHt / Wt: 6-2 / 190 NFBC ADP: 674.67
Position: SPBorn: 12/12/1992 Birthplace: Bani, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Giants (2011)


Latest News
Sep. 2 9:08 PM PT10:08 PM MT11:08 PM CT12:08 AM ET0:08 ET4:08 GMT12:08 9:08 PM MST11:08 PM EST11:38 PM VEN8:08 UAE11:08 PM CT-Castillo allowed two runs on three hits and one walk in 4.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-3 on Friday. Castillo struck out five, ending the game with a 3.32 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Castillo matched his shortest outing of the season.
Aug. 26 6:25 PM PT7:25 PM MT8:25 PM CT9:25 PM ET21:25 ET1:25 GMT9:25 6:25 PM MST8:25 PM EST8:55 PM VEN5:25 UAE (+1)8:25 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 2-7, allowing one run on three hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 1-0 on Saturday. Castillo struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.26 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Castillo's only mistake was a homer by opposing pitcher Gerrit Cole. The rookie right-hander is 0-2 in his last three starts despite posting a 1.59 ERA as the Reds have given him zero runs of support in each of those outings.
Aug. 20 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)4:39 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 2-6, allowing two runs on four hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Atlanta Braves 8-1 on Sunday. Castillo struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.45 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 16 9:20 AM PT10:20 AM MT11:20 AM CT12:20 PM ET12:20 ET16:20 GMT0:20 9:20 AM MST11:20 AM EST11:50 AM VEN20:20 UAE11:20 AM CT-Luis Castillo allowed two hits and two walks without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Chicago Cubs 2-1 on Tuesday. Castillo struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.39 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 10 3:31 PM PT4:31 PM MT5:31 PM CT6:31 PM ET18:31 ET22:31 GMT6:31 3:31 PM MST5:31 PM EST6:01 PM VEN2:31 UAE (+1)5:31 PM CT-Luis Castillo allowed three runs on six hits and three walks in 6.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the San Diego Padres 10-3 on Thursday. Castillo struck out four, ending the game with a 3.73 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 8:49 PM PT9:49 PM MT10:49 PM CT11:49 PM ET23:49 ET3:49 GMT11:49 8:49 PM MST10:49 PM EST11:19 PM VEN7:49 UAE (+1)10:49 PM CT-Castillo fell to 2-5, allowing four runs - three earned - on three hits and five walks in 6.1 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 4-1 on Saturday. Castillo struck out four, ending the game with a 3.64 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Castillo struggled with his control, tying his season and career high with five walks and hitting two batters
July 30 2:03 PM PT3:03 PM MT4:03 PM CT5:03 PM ET17:03 ET21:03 GMT5:03 2:03 PM MST4:03 PM EST4:33 PM VEN1:03 UAE (+1)4:03 PM CT-Luis Castillo improved to 2-4, allowing one run on three hits and one walk in 8.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Miami Marlins 6-4 on Sunday. Castillo struck out six, ending the game with a 3.56 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Castillo threw 70 of his 106 pitches for strikes and continued an impressive if somewhat uneven beginning to his career.
July 25 7:29 PM PT8:29 PM MT9:29 PM CT10:29 PM ET22:29 ET2:29 GMT10:29 7:29 PM MST9:29 PM EST9:59 PM VEN6:29 UAE (+1)9:29 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 1-4, allowing three runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the New York Yankees 4-2 on Tuesday. Castillo struck out two, ending the game with a 4.05 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
July 20 12:56 PM PT1:56 PM MT2:56 PM CT3:56 PM ET15:56 ET19:56 GMT3:56 12:56 PM MST2:56 PM EST3:26 PM VEN23:56 UAE2:56 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 1-3, allowing four runs on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 12-2 on Thursday. Castillo struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
July 15 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)10:28 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 1-2, allowing three runs on three hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Washington Nationals 10-7 on Saturday. Castillo struck out six, ending the game with a 3.41 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
July 9 9:36 AM PT10:36 AM MT11:36 AM CT12:36 PM ET12:36 ET16:36 GMT0:36 9:36 AM MST11:36 AM EST12:06 PM VEN20:36 UAE11:36 AM CT-Luis Castillo improved to 1-1, allowing three hits and one walk over 6.2 scoreless innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-0 on Saturday. Castillo struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.13 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Making his fourth career start, the rookie from the Dominican Republic held the Diamondbacks hitless for the game's first three innings, then after giving up a single to Paul Goldschmidt retired the next nine Diamondbacks. You couldn't ask for more than that -- that was a great performance," Reds manager Bryan Price said. "He had a nice mix, he really did. (He) was able to bring in the changeup and the breaking ball but threw the fastball with confidence."
July 4 7:21 AM PT8:21 AM MT9:21 AM CT10:21 AM ET10:21 ET14:21 GMT22:21 7:21 AM MST9:21 AM EST9:51 AM VEN18:21 UAE9:21 AM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 0-1, allowing four runs on nine hits and one walk in 5.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Colorado Rockies 5-3 on Monday. Castillo struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.41 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Castillo has allowed five homers and a .987 OPS through his first three major league starts.
June 29 8:39 AM PT9:39 AM MT10:39 AM CT11:39 AM ET11:39 ET15:39 GMT23:39 8:39 AM MST10:39 AM EST11:09 AM VEN19:39 UAE10:39 AM CT-Luis Castillo allowed two runs on five hits and three walks in 5.2 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 4-3 on Wednesday. Castillo struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Castillo gave up a Ryan Bruan homer after serving up two home runs in five innings in his major league debut at Washington on June 23.
June 23 8:13 PM PT9:13 PM MT10:13 PM CT11:13 PM ET23:13 ET3:13 GMT11:13 8:13 PM MST10:13 PM EST10:43 PM VEN7:13 UAE (+1)10:13 PM CT-Castillo allowed two runs on five hits and five walks in 5.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Washington Nationals 6-5 on Friday. Castillo struck out five, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Castillo pitched five effective innings in his major league debut and left with a 5-2 lead, but the Cincinnati bullpen deprived him of the victory.

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.