College Football

20 from FCS earn NFL Combine invitations


STATS FCS Senior Editor

(STATS) - An FCS-high three Jacksonville State players were among 20 from the subdivision to receive combine invites, which were announced by the NFL on Tuesday.

The annual pre-draft event will be held Feb. 27-March 5 at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis. All 32 NFL teams will take an up-close-and-personal look at 335 players as they go through measurements and medical examinations, psychological testing, interviews and on-field workouts.

The three Gamecocks headed to the combine are 2017 STATS FCS Buck Buchanan Award winner Darius Jackson, who will transition to outside linebacker from his college position, defensive end; running back Roc Thomas; and safety Siran Neal.

Richmond quarterback Kyle Lauletta, the most outstanding player at the Senior Bowl, earned an invitation, as did South Dakota State tight end Dallas Goedert, whom many draft analysts project will be the first FCS player taken in the draft.

The combine is staggered into positional groups over four-day intervals, wrapping up with the much-dissected on-field workouts. This year's workout dates: running backs, offensive linemen, kickers and special teamers on March 2; quarterbacks, wide receivers and tight ends on March 3; defensive linemen and linebackers on March 4; and defensive backs on March 5.


FCS players invited to 2018 NFL combine

Quarterback: Kyle Lauletta, Richmond

Running back: Chase Edmonds, Fordham; Roc Thomas, Jacksonville State

Tight end: Dallas Goedert, South Dakota State

Wide receiver: Jake Wieneke, South Dakota State

Offensive guard: Jamil Demby, Maine; Skyler Phillips, Idaho State

Offensive tackle: Brandon Parker, North Carolina A&T; Timon Parris, Stony Brook; Greg Senat, Wagner

Defensive end: John Franklin-Myers, Stephen F. Austin

Defensive tackle: Bilal Nichols, Delaware

Linebacker: Nick DeLuca, North Dakota State; Darius Jackson, Jacksonville State; Darius Leonard, South Carolina State

Cornerback: Davontae Harris, Illinois State; Danny Johnson, Southern; Taron Johnson, Weber State; D'Montre Wade, Murray State

Safety: Siran Neal, Jacksonville State

Updated February 6, 2018

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.