College Football

Fobbs, Grambling State headline SWAC honors

(AP Photo/Ben Margot, File)


STATS FCS Senior Editor

(STATS) - The SWAC may have to consider renaming its coach of the year award after Grambling State's Broderick Fobbs.

He's won the award in each of his four seasons, including Thursday when All-SWAC honors were announced following a vote of the conference's coaches and sports information directors.

On Saturday, Fobbs' Tigers (10-1) will try to repeat as conference champion when they face Alcorn State in the title game in Houston. They're 37-10 during Fobbs' tenure, including 34-3 against conference opponents.

Grambling dominated the SWAC postseason honors. Senior quarterback DeVante Kincade was named the SWAC's offensive player of the year for the second consecutive season and senior linebacker De'Arius Christmas earned the defensive player of the year award.

Kincade leads the SWAC in passing yards (2,409), passing efficiency (143.8) and total offensive yards (2,649) and has thrown 19 touchdowns. Christmas has totaled 76 tackles, 14 1/2 tackles for loss and 3 1/2 sacks.

Both players helped Grambling lead the way in All-SWAC selections with nine on the first team and 12 overall. Alcorn was second with nine all-conference selections, one more than Prairie View A&M and Southern with eight each.

Mississippi Valley State wide receiver Quinn McElfresh was named the SWAC's newcomer of the year and Prairie View place-kicker Zach Elder the freshman of the year.



OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR - DeVante Kincade, QB, Grambling State

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR - De'Arius Christmas, LB, Grambling State

NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR - Quinn McElfresh, WR, Mississippi Valley State

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR - Zach Elder, PK, Prairie View A&M

COACH OF THE YEAR - Broderick Fobbs, Grambling State



QB - DeVante Kincade, Grambling State

RB - De'Lance Turner, Alcorn State

RB - Martez Carter, Grambling State

OL - Trent Scott, Grambling State

OL - Timothy Gardner, Alcorn State

OL - William Waddell, Grambling State

OL - Kenyon Brantley, Alcorn State

OL - Sam Baptiste, Alabama State

WR - Norlando Veals, Alcorn State

WR - Khadarel Hodge, Prairie View A&M

TE - Dillon Beard, Southern


DL - Aaron Tiller, Southern

DL - La'Allan Clark, Grambling State

DL - Brandon Varner, Grambling State

DL - Vernon Moland, Alabama A&M

LB - De'Arius Christmas, Grambling State

LB - Kenneth Davis, Alabama A&M

LB - Jalyn Williams, Prairie View A&M

DB - Danny Johnson, Southern

DB - De'Aumante Johnson, Grambling State

DB - Ju'Anthony Parker, Prairie View A&M

DB - Ronnie Scott, Alabama State


PK - Marc Orozco, Grambling State

P - Jamie Gillan, Arkansas-Pine Bluff

RS - Darius Floyd, Prairie View A&M

Updated November 30, 2017

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.